Public Announcements


2018 Design Award Recipients

Congratulations to the following AIANS Member Firms, awarded the distinctions below on 9.13.18

Please visit our photo gallery to view images of the evening.  Full resolution photos of all boards will be avaiable shortly.

Non-Residential Built:
Gold - Princeton University: School of Architecture, Laboratory for Embodied Computation
Princeton, New Jersey
NK Architects
Morristown, New Jersey

Silver - Yeshiva of Greater Monsey
Monsey, New York
NK Architects
Morristown, New Jersey

Silver - Allergan Headquarters
Madison, New Jersey
Morristown, New Jersey

Bronze - Greater Morristown YMCA
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Studio 1200
Short Hills, New Jersey

Bronze - Union County Family Courthouse
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Netta Architects
Mountainside, New Jersey

Non-Residential Unbuilt:
Gold - Kean University: Liberty Hall Center, Center for History, Community Arts & Academics
Union, New Jersey
NK Architects
Morristown, New Jersey

Silver - Rockefeller Group
Florham Park, New Jersey
Morristown, New Jersey

Non-Residential Interiors or Featured Element:
Silver - West District Police Precinct (Featured Element: The Lobby)
City of Jersey City, New Jersey
The Goldstein Partnership
Maplewood, New Jersey

Bronze -  Bloomfield College: Student Financial Services
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Fallon + Pacheco Architects
Bloomfield, New Jersey

Residential Built:
Gold -  “Light House”
Ocean Beach, New Jersey
Seth A. Leeb Architect, AIA
Parsippany, New Jersey

Residential Unbuilt:
Bronze -  Woodward Residence (Ranch Retrofit)
South Orange, New Jersey
Clawson Architects


Barbara Underwood

The Board of Trustees is saddened to announce that Ken Underwood, FAIA, Newark & Suburban Past President, lost his wife Barbara on June 27, 2018.  A memorial service will be held on Sat. Aug 11, 2:00pm at Glen Ridge Congregational Church at 195 Ridgewood Avenue.  Please join us in sending condolences to the Underwood family.



Past Presidents Banquet Photos!



President Ronald C. Weston


Ronald C. Weston, AIA of West Orange, was installed as 2018 President of AIA Newark & Suburban Architects on the evening of Saturday, January 20th at Mayfair Farms in West Orange, NJ. 

AIA Newark & Suburban Architects is a Section of the New Jersey Society of Architects (AIA-NJ), which in turn is a Chapter and Region of American Institute of Architects (AIA).  Through public education, outreach, community redevelopment, government advocacy and partnerships, AIA-NJ promotes the professional interests of its 2,000 plus member Architects, while working to build a safer and better world for all of us.

Along with Mr. Weston the following officers were installed for 2018:

  • Paul Tiajoloff, AIA of Kinnelon, NJ as President-Elect
  • Andrew Thompson, AIA of Union, NJ as First Vice President
  • Brandon Warshofsky, AIA of Newark, NJ as Secretary
  • Christy DiBartolo, AIA of Verona, NJ as Treasurer
  • Alex Gotthelf, AIA of Mountain Lakes, NJ as the Immediate Past President


Mr. Weston intends to focus his presidency on stewardship of the organization, and promotion of the AIA’s Values and Core Member Services, including Communications, Education, Advocacy, Public Awareness, Governance, Membership, Diversity and Equity in Architecture.

He is a Principal and Vice President at PS&S, a 260-person architecture and engineering firm based in Warren Township, NJ.  During his 30-plus years as a licensed architect, Weston has worked on a wide variety of commercial, educational, science & tech, hospitality and mixed-use projects in leadership roles at established NJ & NY design firms.

Mr. Weston is a longtime West Orange, NJ planning board member and past-chairman, and is a licensed architect in seven states and the District of Columbia. He is a licensed professional planner in New Jersey, and holds LEED Accredited Professional (LEED AP) credentials, sanctioned by the U.S. Green Building Council. Mr. Weston is a graduate of the Syracuse University School of Architecture.

Anyone who is interested in learning more about AIA Newark & Suburban Architects events or services can contact him at, or by phone at 973-280-9614.