2012 AIANS and ALNNJ Design Awards

This year’s 19th annual Newark and Suburban Design Awards, a special joint awards event with the Architects League, was a great success, drawing over 175 members from our two Sections to view the project boards and enjoy good food and drink, live jazz, and the company of their AIA colleagues.

My co-chairperson Stacey Kliesch and I would like to thank the twenty-eight NS and AL firms that participated by submitting a total of forty-seven boards. We would also like to thank our five jurors – Bruce D. Turner, AIA (President – South Jersey), Rafael Da Silva, AIA (VP – Jersey Shore), Robert W. O’Reilly, AIA (President – West Jersey), Thomas Navin, AIA, and J. Robert Hillier, FAIA, for the outstanding work they did in reviewing all of the boards and selecting fifteen projects for awards and providing insightful and cogent comments during the awards presentations.

We would also like to thank our Platinum Sponsor for the event, the law firm of L’Abbate, Balkan, Colavita & Contini, LLP, specialists in the defense of architects and engineers professional liability claims.

We are making plans to use the submitted projects to remind the general public of the value of the AIA and its Architects. We are looking for venues such as libraries, commercial spaces, and institutional facilities that have public galleries to display a number of the boards. Please contact me at the e-mail address listed below should you know of any such venues.

We would also like to feature projects that were submitted in recent Design Awards here in the Rostrum. If interested, please submit an article (500 word maximum) about your project to aiansrostrum@gmail.com. We will use images of the project submitted for the Design Awards.
Donald Chin AIA

2012 NS/AL Design Awards Co-Chairperson

2012 Design Awards  – List of Awarded Projects

 I. Residential – Un-Built

Silver Medal:  Kennedy-Grant  –  Valley House

II. Residential – Built

Silver Medal:  Stonewater Architecture – Gardner Residence

Bronze Medal:  Seth A. Leeb Architect – “New” Addition

Honorable Mention:  Kennedy-Grant – Country House

III. Non-Residential – Un-Built

Gold Medal:  Gruskin Architecture + Design, P.C. – Kean University Green Lane Building

Silver Medal:  RSC Architects – Career Technical High School

Bronze Medal:  Poskanzer Skott Architects – Mediacom Communications

IV. Non-Residential – Built

Gold Medal:  Arcari & Iovino Architects, P.C. – Korean Presbyterian Church

Silver Medal:  Pallante Design – The Pataki Center

Bronze Medal:  The Biber Partnership – Early Research Learning Academy

V. Non-Residential Interiors

Gold Medal:  Gensler – Lola

Silver Medal:  Gensler – Turner Construction Company

VI. Non-Residential Featured Element

Gold Medal:  Marchetto Higgins Stieve AIA – Apse – Traction

Silver Medal:  CTS Group Architecture/Planning PA – Music Court Pavilions

Bronze Medal:  Fallon + Pacheco Architects – Weill Cornell Medical College – Main Corridor Improvements

VII. Peer Vote – as voted on by event attendees

Marchetto Higgins Stieve AIA –  Apse – Traction

Gensler – Hotel Lola

Arcari & Iovino Architects, P.C. – Korean Presbyterian Church


Design Awards Platinum Sponsor:

L’Abbate, Balkan, Colavita & Contini, L.L.P.

AIANS Event Sponsor:

Pella Windows & Doors

Looking to Sponsor this event? Sponsorship Form


For this special joint event, we are promoting a strong New Jersey theme and have invited the other AIA New Jersey Section presidents to serve as jurors, and we are pleased to announce that Bruce D. Turner, AIA (South Jersey), Donna Terzano, AIA (Central), Robert W. O’Reilly, AIA (West Jersey), Rafael DaSilva, AIA (VP Jersey Shore) as well as Thomas Navin, AIA, a noted architect, garden designer and currently an instructor at NJIT and Columbia, have all graciously agreed to join us as jurors.